Here you can find a collection of books that cover different aspects of culturally responsive pedagogy and teaching. The SERC Library would like to stress that we do not officially endorse neither the publishers nor the authors of these books. SERC is not responsible for the content or representations of these listed books or websites of third parties. This is a collection of books curated by the SERC librarians, chosen because of the pressing questions and relevant content of the listed books, the thought-provoking argumentations by their authors, and the combination of cutting-edge theoretical knowledge and practical classroom and teaching experience.
Books that are available in the SERC library are marked as follows: ►►►Available at the SERC library and linked to the item entry in our online card catalogue.
From the publisher:
The achievement gap remains a stubborn problem for educators of culturally and linguistically diverse students. With the introduction of the rigorous Common Core State Standards, diverse classrooms need a proven framework for optimizing student engagement and facilitating deeper learning
Culturally responsive pedagogy has shown great promise in meeting this need, but many educators still struggle with its implementation. In this book, Zaretta Hammond draws on cutting-edge neuroscience research to offer an innovative approach for designing and implementing brain-compatible culturally responsive instruction.
The book includes:
With a firm understanding of these techniques and principles, teachers and instructional leaders will confidently reap the benefits of culturally responsive instruction.
►►► From Discipline to Culturally Responsive Engagement, Laura E Pinto (Corwin, 2013)
From the publisher:
One of the biggest challenges teachers face is managing their classrooms on a day-to-day basis, and in the eyes of the general public, classroom management ranks as one of the most serious educational problems. NQTs consistently identify it as their most pressing concern during their early teaching years. Laura Pinto's From Discipline to Culturally Responsive Engagement: 45 Classroom Management Strategies provides a strategic plan to address this problem in an engaging and easy-to-implement way.
Starting off with explanations on the foundations of classroom management , Pinto discusses the need for culturally responsive practice in classroom settings that are increasingly diverse. She then guides teachers through the self-reflective process of creating their own classroom management style and provides them with a wealth of practical classroom management strategies for immediate use in the classroom. From considering the physical environment and routines, to managing expectations and rules, to tracking student behavior and establishing parent-teacher collaboration, the strategies provided touch on a range of key issues in classroom management and explain how critical these issues are for meeting the Common Core standards and ensuring success for all students.
►►►Available at the SERC library (click here for the item page)
From the publisher:
Culturally and Linguistically Responsive Teaching and Learning uses research, best practices and evidence-based teaching strategies to provide practical activities and information to support the modern-day teacher. Beginning with background knowledge and loaded with tons of teacher-ready tools to use right away, this book can ignite growth in your teaching and classroom management.
Written to address all grade levels, this invaluable resource provides novice and experienced educators with a pedagogical framework for implementing culturally and linguistically responsive teaching strategies in today's diverse classrooms. It covers classroom management, academic literacy, academic vocabulary, academic language, and learning environment.
Teachers will be able to implement best-practice instruction with the practical, easy-to-implement strategies and concrete activities provided in the book and learn how to approach their instruction through a culturally and linguistically responsive lens. Educators will feel empowered and excited to implement this framework because it embraces and places value on students' culture and language, allowing them to thrive in the classroom.
Culturally and Linguistically Responsive Teaching and Learning was written by Sharroky Hollie, Ph.D., who has spent nearly 25 years in education in varying roles such as a middle and high school teacher, [...] assistant professor at California State University Dominguez Hills, and president/Chief Education Advocate for the Culture and Language Academy of Success.
From the publisher:
Merging real stories with theory, research, and practice, a prominent scholar offers a new approach to teaching and learning for every stakeholder in urban education.
Drawing on his own experience of feeling undervalued and invisible in classrooms as a young man of color and merging his experiences with more than a decade of teaching and researching in urban America, award-winning educator Christopher Emdin offers a new lens on an approach to teaching and learning in urban schools. He begins by taking to task the perception of urban youth of color as unteachable, and he challenges educators to embrace and respect each student’s culture and to reimagine the classroom as a site where roles are reversed and students become the experts in their own learning.
Putting forth his theory of Reality Pedagogy, Emdin provides practical tools to unleash the brilliance and eagerness of youth and educators alike—both of whom have been typecast and stymied by outdated modes of thinking about urban education. With this fresh and engaging new pedagogical vision, Emdin demonstrates the importance of creating a family structure and building communities within the classroom, using culturally relevant strategies like hip-hop music and call-and-response, and connecting the experiences of urban youth to indigenous populations globally. [...]
Lively, accessible, and revelatory, For White Folks Who Teach in the Hood...and the Rest of Y’all Too is the much-needed antidote to traditional top-down pedagogy and promises to radically reframe the landscape of urban education for the better.
►►► Culturally Responsive School Leadership, Muhammad Khalifa (Harvard Education Press, 2018)
From the Publisher:
►►►Available at the SERC library (click here for the item page)
From the publisher:
Create a systemwide plan for transforming the district office, schools, and classrooms into places that truly support ALL students achieving their highest levels!
This updated edition of the highly acclaimed bestseller continues to explain the need for candid, courageous conversations about race so that educators may understand why student disengagement and achievement inequality persists and learn how they can develop a curriculum that promotes true educational equity and excellence. Almost a decade since its original publication, the revised book includes new features as well as preserves the core content that led to many schools’ and districts’ success.
►►► Culturally Responsive Pedagogy: Working towards Decolonization, Indigeneity and Interculturalism. Editors: Pirbhai-Illich, Fatima, Pete, Shauneen, Martin, Fran (Palgrave Macmillan, 2017).
From the publisher:
This book convincingly argues that effective culturally responsive pedagogies require teachers to firstly undertake a critical deconstruction of Self in relation to and with the Other; and secondly, to take into account how power affects the socio-political, cultural and historical contexts in which the education relation takes place. The contributing authors are from a range of diaspora, indigenous, and white mainstream communities, and are united in their desire to challenge the hegemony of Eurocentric education and to create new educational spaces that are more socially and environmentally just.
In this venture, the ideal education process is seen to be inherently critical and intercultural, where mainstream and marginalized, colonized and colonizer, indigenous and settler communities work together to decolonize selves, teacher-student relationships, pedagogies, the curriculum and the education system itself. This book will be of great interest and relevance to policy-makers and researchers in the field of education; teacher educators; and pre- and in-service teachers.