This resource has examples of various types of PECS (Picture Exchange Communication Symbols) and communication boards made for children to enhance communication.
Resource Type: PDF
Cost: Free
Compliancy Pledged: N/A
Resources on this page are provided by educators and families from around the world. These resources provide support to meet the needs of students with significant disabilities during the COVID-19 pandemic. These materials are open-source and may be adapted to meet students' individual needs.
Resource Type: PDF
Cost: Free
Compliancy Pledged: N/A
This resource provides examples of choice boards that can be used to structure free time, provide an opportunity for a student to choose which activity to complete first among an array of activities, or offer a choice of reinforcers from which to pick. Choice boards can be created using a different number of choices depending on the student. It is essential that the student understand what the visuals represent.
Resource Type: PDF Documents
Cost: Free
Compliancy Pledged: N/A
This resource provides examples of breathing techniques that can help a person learn how to focus on controlled breathing. Controlled breathing may help a person who is experiencing stress and anxiety. It helps to calm a person’s mind, re-center their body, and facilitate emotional regulation. Provide these breathing cards in the self-regulation area of the classroom, on a student’s desk as daily reminders to just “breathe,” or in a variety of school environments as portable visual supports. They can also be helpful in the home and/or work environment.
Resource Type: PDF Documents
Cost: Free
Compliancy Pledged: N/A
Packet contains all of the content, strategies, and resources related to supporting individuals with autism spectrum disorders
Resource Type: PDF Booklet
Cost: Free
Compliancy Pledged: N/A
TIES Center is the national technical assistance center on inclusive practices and policies. Its purpose is to create sustainable changes in kindergarten-grade 8 school and district educational systems so that students with significant cognitive disabilities can fully engage in the same instructional and non-instructional activities as their general education peers while being instructed in a way that meets individual learning needs.
This includes communication, social-emotional, and visual supports, and academic resources.
Resource Type: PDF Docs and Videos
Cost: Free
Compliancy Pledged: N/A
This resource provides guidance for supporting students with significant cognitive disabilities.
Resource Type: PDF Docs and Videos
Cost: Free
Compliancy Pledged: N/A
This resource provides examples of a less-preferred activity, the "first," followed by a preferred activity, the "then." This intervention is designed to increase motivation to complete a less desired task, with reinforcement. A first-then board may be used with an individual who is not yet ready for a more complex visual schedule. Photographs, picture icons, written words, and even objects can be incorporated.
Resource Type: PDF Documents
Cost: Free
Compliancy Pledged: N/A
This resource provides examples of behavior/contingency maps, a visual strategy that can assist with decreasing challenging behaviors. Behavior maps show an individual that a positive behavior choice can earn a desired item/person/activity while a challenging behavior choice may earn a consequence. Behavior maps can be effective because they illustrate in a concrete way the results of both the desired and undesired behavior.
Resource Type: PDF Documents
Cost: Free
Compliancy Pledged: N/A
This page provides a list of fun resources that help children learn about germs and handwashing. Also included are resources to help families support children with different needs by using visual cues or sign language.
Resource Type: Social stories and visual supports that can be downloaded
Cost: Free
Compliancy Pledged: N/A