Skip to main content

Online Learning and Other Resources for the 2020 Coronavirus Pandemic: Parent Resources

UNICEF: Supporting your child’s mental health as they return to school during COVID-19

The Coronavirus outbreak has caused major disruptions to daily life and children are feeling these changes deeply. While the return to school will be not only welcome but exciting for many students, others will be feeling anxious or frightened. Read this article from UNICEF to gain tips to help your children navigate some of the complicated emotions they may be facing with going back to school.

7 Guiding Principles For Parents Teaching From Home

"Understanding the “why” behind teaching practices can help parents create meaningful and effective at-home learning opportunities during the pandemic."

This article from Edutopia provides parents with strategies and understandings to consider when supporting learning at home during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Tips for Families: Coronavirus

The following resource offers links with tips for families including age-appropriate responses to common questions, a guide to self-care, and activities for young children experiencing social distancing. 

Draw Me Safe: Coloring and Conversation about Pandemics

The following resource is from the Anti Defamation League (ADL) and provides a guide to talk about the COVID-19 pandemic with young children through a PDF with printable coloring book pages and discussion guide.

Kate Messner - Blog and Books

Kate Messner is a former classroom teacher, forever-educator, and the author of more than three dozen books for kids. She has put together a library of resources for kids, families, teachers, and librarians to make sure that reading & learning can happen anywhere this spring. Some of you may be out of school as communities try to prevent the spread of a virus known as COVID-19. 

In her collection, you’ll find a growing collection of resources that include everything from first-chapter and picture book read-alouds (all shared with permission!) to drawing and writing mini-lessons. Be sure to check back often, as new resources will be added every day. If you’d prefer to browse learning-at-home resources by age group that is also possible. 

Click here to have a look at her website and browse through her various resources.

 

Healthy Children - Working and Learning from Home

This American Association of Pediatrics supported website offers resources for all children, from infants to young adults

Helping Children and Families Cope - Emergencies and Disasters

This website from the National Center for Pyramid Model Innovations contains resources to support families in helping young children cope with the challenges that might occur during stressful emergency or disaster situations. This website will be updated as we obtain more resources. 

Resources for Families During the Coronavirus Pandemic

This curated resource from Common Sense Education provides a guide for parents and caregivers on how to understand the COVID-19 news coverage, how to stay calm for you and your kids, and how to support learning at home. 

What Parents Can Do at Home to Support Reading

Let's support reading as a fun and educational activity during this time of social isolation! This resource from TeachThought provides an infographic and guide for parents and caregivers on how to encourage and support your child's reading habits.

Supporting Your Child's Reading at Home

These REL Southeast videos and activities provide families with information about how to support children as they practice foundational reading skills at home. The activities include easy-to-follow plans to help support children's reading skills, while the videos show caregivers how to engage their children in family activities.

Tips for Families in Supporting Their Children with Disabilities in Virtual Formats

This three-page document from the Florida Inclusion Network provides parents with tips and strategies to assist their children with disabilities in successfully adapting to the online learning environment.

  

Talking to Children About COVID-19 (Coronavirus): A Parent Resource

This resource from the National Association of School Psychologists provides a guideline on how to appropriately talk to your children about the Coronavirus.

Matt Glover - Author to Author

Matt Glover has been a teacher, principal, author, and consultant for over 30 years.  His newest book is Craft and Process Studies: Units that Provide Writers with Choice of Genre.  He is the coauthor with Kathy Collins of I Am Readingthe author of Engaging Young Writerscoauthor with Mary Alice Berry of Projecting Possibilities for Writersand coauthor with Katie Wood Ray of Already Ready and Watch Katie and Matt Sit Down and Teach Upa video enhance ebook that combines video and text to examine conferring with young writers.  Along with Ellin Keene, Matt is the coeditor of The Teacher You Want to Be: Essays about Children, Learning, and Teaching. A nationally known literacy consultant, Matt frequently speaks on topics related to nurturing writers, early reading, and supporting children’s intellectual development.

Click here to access some of his resources for parents to support their children at home. Matt's material is geared toward parents of younger students.

SLPs are Quarantined Too: Keep Your Child Progressing!

From the speech therapy app, Speech Blubs, comes a simple guide for parents and caregivers on how to support their children and their continued progress in meeting their speech/language goals.