Skip to main content

Online Learning and Other Resources for the 2020 Coronavirus Pandemic: Digital Tools

About the Digital Tools Page

The resources found on this page are digital tools that may be useful to educators during this time of distance learning. Many of these resources are easily accessible and designed for both teachers and students. Though these resources are grouped by category, we encourage you to consider how they can be used in an interdisciplinary way to support many types of learning activities.

Richard West Assistive Technology Advocacy Center - COVID-19 Resources

The Richard West Assistive Technology Advocacy Center (ATAC) has collected COVID-19 related resources including many resources for free apps/software and strategies for use during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Microsoft Educator

Explore Microsoft's Educator Center to support multimedia online learning experiences in K-12 classrooms and beyond. Those who explore the site will find classroom ideas, lesson plans, resources, professional development opportunities for educators.

NAFSCE Resources

The National Association for Family, School, and Community Engagement has put together a document providing a list of recommended resources for practitioners, educators, and families during the COVID-19 pandemic. The list provides the type of resources, target audience, source, description of the resources, and a link to access it.

Please refer to Connecticut's edTech Learn Platform to ensure that the resources you are interested in have signed the CT Student Data Privacy Pledge.

Presentation Tools

VoiceThread

VoiceThread is a free, online tool (additional features cost money) that allows educators to conduct media presentations in a collaborative environment. Students can participate in the presentation through text, video, audio recording, etc. VoiceThread has also pledged compliance with the CT Student Data Privacy law.

To try out VoiceThread, click here:https://voicethread.com/

Thinking Maps

Thinking Maps are consistent visual patterns linked directly to eight specific thought processes. These patterns help all students reach higher levels of critical and creative thinking - essential components of 21st century education. In a school-wide implementation, Thinking Maps establish a consistent Language for Learning. 

Click here to explore Thinking Maps. 

Accessible Math Tools for the Classroom

Provided by the National Center on Accessible Educational Materials, this page provides an overview of classroom tools for making math content more accessible with supports such as text to speech for reading math expressions aloud, handwriting recognition, sonification of graphs and more. Please refer to Connecticut's edTech Learn Platform to ensure that the resources you are interested in have signed the CT Student Data Privacy Pledge.

SAMR Student Choice Matrix

@mrORIStech provides a SAMR Student Choice Matrix chart that supports the integration of resources and motivation with higher-order thinking skills. Each app or resource is also provided with a breakdown of if the technology is able to be used by those under the age of 13, its use relating to the Children's Internet Protection Act (CIPA) and Children's Online Privacy Protection Rule (COPPA).

Remote Learning with Seesaw

Seesaw is a free, simple way for teachers and students to record and share what's happening in the classroom. Seesaw gives students a place to document their learning, be creative, and learn how to use technology. Each student gets their own journal and will add things to it, like photos, videos, drawings, or notes.

Seesaw has also pledged compliance with the CT Student Data Privacy law.

Collaboration Tools

Flipgrid

Flipgrid is a free online tool that allows educators to create prompts that students respond to in a video format.  This tool is visually eye-catching, easy to use for any age group, and can be accessed via a computer or through a downloadable app on a smart device of your choosing. The Flipgrid website also provides additional remote learning resources and integration documents to provide activity ideas for Pre K - 12 educators in a variety of content areas. Flipgrid has also pledged compliance with the CT Student Data Privacy law.

To try out Flipgrid, click here: https://info.flipgrid.com/

Learning Keeps Going

The website 'Learning Keeps Going' is curating a list of free tech products offered by companies and organizations to support learning during extended school closures. Search the directory below to explore what products will best support your needs. Please be advised that while some of the resources suggested on this site do not require a login, others do. Please refer to Connecticut's edTech Learn Platform to ensure that the resources you are interested in have signed the CT Student Data Privacy Pledge.

Click here for free tech resources for online learning. 

Described and Captioned Media Program

Funded by the Department of Education, DCMP continues to support families and educators with free Remote Learning resources by offering high quality captioning and description for educational media. DCMP is providing access to some of its resources for free through this link. DCMP has not currently pledged compliance with the Connecticut Student Data Privacy law. Please contact in-district personnel to set up the Data Privacy Pledge with this company.

Webinar: How A School District Tackled The Digital Divide

Hear how San Antonio ISD faced the digital divide to ensure learning continued for their students during COVID-19. Eva Mendoza, executive director of information technology, will describe the work that San Antonio ISD performed to bridge the digital divide in her district.  She will discuss the challenges, successes and what’s next. Also, Clarissa Ramon from Google Fiber will share how funders can support your district when immediate needs arise.

Test and Assessment Tools

Common Sense Education provides a list of 29 top tech tools for formative assessment. Please be sure to check on Connecticut's edTech Learn Platform to ensure that any tools you are interested in trying out are in compliance with the CT Student Data Privacy Pledge.

Additional Digital Tool Resource Suggestions

Wide Open School

Wide Open School is a free collection of the best online learning experiences for kids curated by the editors at Common Sense. There is so much good happening, and we are here to gather great stuff and organize it so teachers and families can easily find it and plan each day. Bilingual and ELL resources are provided here as well. Please be advised that while some of the resources on this site do not require a login, others do. Please refer to Connecticut's edTech Learn Platform to ensure that the resources you are interested in have signed the CT Student Data Privacy Pledge.

 

Learn at Home by YouTube Learning

A video resource list for families with children of different ages & areas of interest. These resources are not meant to replace homework assigned by teachers but meant to complement that work. Learn at Home (YouTube) has not currently pledged compliance with the Connecticut Student Data Privacy law. Please contact in-district personnel to set up the Data Privacy Pledge with this company.

 

20 Ways High Schools Are Using Twitter In The Classroom

This guide provides a look at how 20 different schools are using Twitter to enhance the learning being done in the classroom environment. During school closures due to the Coronavirus outbreak, use these ideas to keep students engaged and using higher-order thinking skills in the online environment. Twitter has not currently pledged compliance with the Connecticut Student Data Privacy law. Please contact in-district personnel to set up the Data Privacy Pledge with this company.

 

How to Find Great Learning Resources for Your Students During School Closures

This resource from Common Sense Education provides a hearty list of resources and tips to support educators as they adapt to virtual learning. Includes information on lesson planning apps, classroom management websites, tools for presentations and slideshows, suggestions on how to communicate with parents, online interest-based learning ideas, and much more. Please be advised that while some of the resources suggested on this site do not require a login, others do. Please refer to Connecticut's edTech Learn Platform to ensure that the resources you are interested in have signed the CT Student Data Privacy Pledge.