Statewide Resources
Connecticut Clearinghouse www.ctclearinghouse.org
The Connecticut Clearinghouse is the state's premier library and resource center for information on substance abuse and mental health disorders, prevention and health promotion, treatment and recovery, wellness, and related topics.
Connecticut Department of Children and Families s http://www.ct.gov/dcf/site/default.asp
DCF offers children and youth educational and informative activities, fun, and games. It also provides resources for families, information regarding adoption and foster care, and other and much more.
Connecticut Department of Mental Health and Addictive Services (dmhas) http://www.ct.gov/dmhas/site/default.asp
The Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services (DMHAS) administers comprehensive, recovery-oriented services in the areas of mental health treatment and substance abuse prevention and treatment for adults throughout Connecticut. This site also offers special resources to help cope with the tragedy at Sandy Hook / Newtown.
CRT - The Community Renewal Team, Inc www.crtct.org
CRT offers varied community programs in Hartford and Middlesex counties. The family Service Centers are the "front door to all CRT's services. Areas of programming that support children, families, and mental health include Family Development, Early Care and Education, Positive Youth Development, Behavioral Health Services, and more.
CT Network of Care http://connecticut.networkofcare.org
This behavioral health web site is a resource for individuals, families, and agencies concerned with mental health. It provides information about mental health services, laws, and related news, as well as communication tools and other features. Regardless of where you begin your search for assistance with mental health issues, the Network of Care helps you find what you need.
Wheeler Clinic www.wheelerclinic.org
The Wheeler clinic house the Connecticut Clearinghouse and the Connecticut Center for Prevention, Wellness and Recovery. Founded in 1968, this statewide, community-based organization provides a continuum of mental health and substance abuse recovery services, child welfare, special education, early childhood, community justice, foster care, employment assistance, prevention, and wellness programs, and provides professional training and development opportunities.
Regional Services
Clifford Beers Clinic http://www.cliffordbeers.org/
South Central CT Regional Mental Health Board
Southwest CT Regional Mental Health Board http://www.healthymindsct.org/
The Office of Safe and Healthy Students (OSHS) http://www2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/oese/oshs/index.html
The Office of Safe and Healthy Students (OSHS) provides useful and timely information that will enhance your knowledge of Safe and Supportive Schools; Health, Mental Health, Environmental Health, and Physical Education; Drug-Violence Prevention; Character and Civic Education; and Homeland Security, Emergency Management and school programs administered by OSHS.
Readiness and Emergency Management for Schools - Technical Assistance Centers http://rems.ed.gov
OSHS and the Center for School Preparedness (CSP) provide support, resources, and training to support school emergency management efforts. The REMS Technical Assistance Center's primary goal is to support schools in the development and implementation of comprehensive all-hazards emergency management plans.
The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) http://www.ready.gov/
FEMA oversees Ready, a national campaign designed to educate Americans to prepare for and respond to emergencies including natural and man-made disasters.
Ready Kids http://www.ready.gov/kids
In 2006 FEMA launched Ready Kids, a tool to help parents and teachers educate chiidren ages 8-12 about emergencies and how they can help get their family prepared. This site offers online materials developed by Sesame Workshop and Discovery Education.
Center for Mental Health in Schools – Responding to a Crisis
http://smhp.psych.ucla.edu/ (From the home page click on Responding to Crisis)
The School Mental Health Project (SMHP) was created in 1986 to pursue theory, research, practice, and training related to addressing mental health and psychosocial concerns through school-based interventions. In 1995 the project established its national Center for Mental Health in Schools as part of the federal mental health in schools program.
American School Counselor Association http://www.schoolcounselor.org
The American School Counselor offers help for children during crisis resources which include webinars on dealing with a crisis, recommended websites for additional information, and excerpts from suggested publications.
Bright Futures at Georgetown University http://www.brightfutures.org/georgetown.html
Bright Futures is a national health promotion initiative dedicated to the principle that every child deserves to be healthy and that optimal health involves a trusting relationship between the health professional, the child, the family, and the community as partners in health practice. Bright Futures at Georgetown University focuses on well child care, promoting healthy mental development and understanding the social-emotional development of children.
The Dougy Center http://www.dougy.org/
The Dougy Center provides support in a safe place where children, teens, young adults, and their families grieving a death can share their experiences. They provide support and training locally, nationally, and internationally to individuals and organizations seeking to assist children in grief. This site offers numerous grief resources, activities, and articles for kids, teens, young adults, and those supporting them.
National Association of School Psychologists - School Safety and Crisis Resources http://www.nasponline.org/resources/crisis_safety/index.aspx
NASP provides materials free of charge to the public in order to promote the ability of children and youth to cope with traumatic or unsettling events. Topics include school safety/violence prevention, suicide, crisis response resources, media and crisis, trauma, natural disasters, and war/terrorism materials.
National Child Traumatic Stress Network (NCTSN)
NCTSN provides information and resources for parents, caregivers, professionals, educators, military personnel, media and others. Two programs within the NCTSN site worth attention are:
National Center for School Crisis and Bereavement https://www.schoolcrisiscenter.org/
The National Center for School Crisis and Bereavement serves as a resource for information, training materials, consultation, and technical assistance related to crisis and loss. These include a comprehensive selection of guidelines, parent guides, brochures, tip sheets, and webcasts and training modules. Several of the resources produced by the center for schools and families are featured elsewhere in this LibGuide.
National Alliance for Grieving Children
http://www.childrengrieve.org/
This clearinghouse of information for grieving children and their families contains the latest news and studies in the field. It offers a link to find grief support in your area as well as activities to use with grieving children and teens.