Skip to main content

Online Learning and Other Resources for the 2020 Coronavirus Pandemic: Online School Resources

Webinar: We’re All in this Together: Communication and Collaboration In-the-Trenches

CITES leaders host a conversation with CITES advisors in-the-trenches to take a closer look at Communication and Collaboration—two of the essential elements for working together to support students and their families during the COVID-19 crisis. The discussion will include examples of how communication and collaboration are helping to ensure that students with disabilities and their families have the opportunity to participate in and benefit from learning opportunities using technology and other strategies.

Presented by: Joy Zabala and Janet Peters, CITES and AEM Center, and guests

Grading Students During the Coronavirus Crisis: What's the Right Call?

This article from Education Week discusses the fairness of assigning grades during the pandemic when access to resources is limited and the immediate presence of teachers is absent.

The Educator Collaborative 2019-2020 Study Series

The heart and strength of The Education Collaborative is our people. We bring together incredible, talented, passionate voices—with a particular focus on underrepresented voices in literacy pedagogy. During this challenging time, TheEdCollab have decided to open up all new registrations to our 2019-2020 Study Series Season to be "Pay What You Are Able." You will be provided access to 12 videos/webinars of learning from amazing educators.

You have just one option: the Full Year Season, giving you access to all 12 Sessions through June 30, 2020. Most can be viewed On-Demand right now, with a few left to view live.

Here is the list of the 12 sessions included in your purchase:

  • Podcasting & Other Authentic Assessments
  • LGBTQIA+ Affriming Classrooms
  • Essays Kids Want to Write & You Want to Read
  • Developing Anti-Bias Practices Together
  • Simple & Significant: Reading Workshop 101
  • Practical Pieces of Effective Workshops
  • Established Tech Tools, New Techniques
  • Systems to Differentiate for Learners
  • Writing with Multilingual Students
  • Healing & Trauma-Informed Teaching
  • Maximize Your Writers' Engagement
  • Ending the Year with Joy

Danbury Public School’s website

The website of the Danbury Public School contains K-12 references to virtual activities including the use of fun resources where famous actors read aloud to your kids and much more. Click here to have a look at their resources. 

Common Lit - Reading, Writing, Communication Skills

CommonLit is a nonprofit education technology organization dedicated to ensuring that all students, especially students in Title I schools, graduate with the reading, writing, communication, and problem-solving skills they need to be successful in college and beyond. Common Lit has also pledged compliance with the CT Student Data Privacy law.

We believe in providing teachers with all the resources they need to set their students up for success, while also encouraging best practices in the classroom. That’s why the CommonLit Literacy Model is built on a foundation of over 2,000 high-quality free reading passages for grades 3-12, complemented by aligned interim assessments, growth-oriented data, and expert-led teacher development. Check out their website here and also have a look at their page for parents and guardians. 

EBSCO Resources

EBSCO is one of the leading provider of research databases, e-journals, magazine subscriptions, ebooks and discovery service for academic libraries, public libraries, and many more institutions. The team of EBSCO has accumulated a growing collection of content offers, webinars and other resources designed to help library staff provide their students, faculty, researchers and patrons with expanded access to online resources that are now in critical demand. Click here to have a look at their resources for public libraries and schools. 

CEC Quick Take: Leadership Support for Co-Teaching with Remote Learning

In this Quick Take from the Council for Exceptional Children, Marilyn Friend's talking about administrative support for virtual co-teaching. What can school leaders do for their co-teachers during online learning? How does the support they need differ? How can you ensure your co-teachers really are "co?" Find out these answers and more.

Webinar: Leading Digital Transformations in Rural School Districts

Join this edWebinar with three rural school district superintendents, located in three different states, as they discuss both the challenges and the opportunities that are unique to rural school districts when leading digital transformations which change not only how teachers teach and students learn but also the ways in which school districts operate.  Given the current challenges involved with the efforts to continue teaching and learning in the midst of multiple school closures, the issues involved in leading digital transformation are now more urgent and relevant than ever. 

Presented by Ann W. Linson, Superintendent, East Noble School Corporation, IN; Dr. Chris Marczak, Superintendent, Maury County Public Schools, TN; and Glenn Robbins, Superintendent, Brigantine Public Schools, NJ

4 ways COVID-19 could change how we educate future generations

The World Economic Forum provides an interesting and contemplative look at how the Coronavirus pandemic might reshape the way we look at education and how we need to change for the better.

COVID-19 ("Coronavirus") Information and Resources for Schools and School Personnel

This resource from the U.S. Department of Education provides links to resources and prevention strategies for school personnel.

Learning Keeps Going

The website 'Learning Keeps Going' is curating a list of free products offered by companies and organizations to support learning during extended school closures. Search the directory below to explore what products will best support your needs. Please be advised that while some of the resources suggested on this site do not require a login, others do. Please refer to Connecticut's edTech Learn Platform to ensure that the resources you are interested in have signed the CT Student Data Privacy Pledge.

Click here for resources for parents, for teachers & leaders, and for webinars.

Intensive Intervention Course Content - American Institutes for Research

The National Center on Intensive Intervention (NCII), through a collaboration with the University of Connecticut and the National Center on Leadership in Intensive Intervention and with support from the CEEDAR Centerdeveloped course content focused on enhancing educators’ skills in explicit instruction, intensive mathematics intervention, behavior support and intensive reading intervention. Click here to have a look at their online resources.

Are you a teacher preparation faculty member faced with developing online learning opportunities for your students? NCII and partners offer online course content focused on intensive intervention. These courses include video lectures, workbooks, practice activities, and so much more. In addition to courses focused on mathematics, behavior, and explicit instruction, the newest course on intensive intervention in reading was just released. This module covers considerations in reading instruction and intervention, progress monitoring and diagnostic data, and adaptations for word reading and comprehension.

NCII has a series of sample lessons and strategies that can be used by educators and families to support students. 

  • The reading lessons and activities cover phonemic awareness, alphabetic principal or phonics, fluency, vocabulary, and comprehension and are examples of brief instructional routines that include sample scripts, activities, and necessary materials to complete the activities.
  • The mathematics lessons and activities are organized around six mathematics skill areas and include descriptions of sample lessons, activities and worksheets, and supplemental materials. Additional videos illustrating the concepts covered in the materials are also included.
  • The behavior strategies, organized around antecedent modification, self-management, and reinforcement strategies, can be used to support students with challenging behaviors.

The U.S. Department of Education has also provided a one-stop-shop of information on their website, the National Center for Systemic Improvement will be collecting and disseminating Part B information from OSEP TA&D Centers to support online, distance and virtual learning, and the Center for Parent Information Resources has developed a collection of information for parents and parent centers.

Pass/Fail or No Grades During Online Pandemic Teaching? A gift.

Provided by the Heinemann Blog, this opinion article by Sarah M. Zerwin discusses the benefits of a no grades system.

AASA Emergency Management, School Safety and Crisis Planning

AASA (The School Superintendents Association) has pulled together resources that may help districts and educators better tackle the hurdles that COVID-19 is causing in our classrooms.   

Schools and Coronavirus: What You Should Know

Provided by the National Education Association (NEA), this resource provides a statement from the NEA on digital learning and staying connected professionally as well as provides links to several other professional education sites and resources.

Congress Responds to Educators’ Calls for a COVID Stimulus Package that Helps Students and Educators

This article from the NEA reviews elements of a stimulus package that will assist educators by providing some monetary relief.

Child Trends - COVID-19 Publications and Blog Posts

The COVID-19 virus has changed, and continues to change, the lives of children and youth across the world, with widespread and long-lasting consequences. Many children face significant challenges, particularly those from low-income families, those in the child welfare and juvenile justice systems, and those who are homeless or have a disability. Child Trends researchers are working to help policymakers, program staff, and parents understand how best to support all children during the pandemic and mitigate the potential harm that this crisis poses to our youngest populations. Stay tuned to this page of publications and blog posts as updates are happening daily.

Free Spirit Publishing

Free Spirit Publishing’s Mission: Whether at home, in school, or out in the world, all kids face challenges. No matter the choices, changes, and opportunities young people encounter, Free Spirit has had the same mission for nearly 40 years: to provide children and teens—and the adults who care for and about them—with the tools they need to think for themselves, overcome challenges, and make a difference in the world.

They have collected and created a variety of resources on their website:

Free Spirit’s leader’s guides provide teachers, youth leaders, parents, and other adults with valuable information for using Free Spirit resources in the classroom and other group settings.

Free PLCs/Book Study Guides are designed as professional development resources and can be used to facilitate book studies or as learning experiences for professional learning communities (PLC). Facilitator notes are provided for additional support and explanation in planning and facilitating your school or group’s sessions.

- Free, on-demand webinar recordings that address timely and relevant topics in early childhood education, social and emotional learning, gifted education, and more. Click here to view all webinars.

Posters: Download and print colorful free posters for your classroom. Each poster is available in two sizes: 8.5" x 11" and 11" x 17". (Early Childhood PostersElementary PostersMiddle School Posters)

Downloads: Free activities, reproducible forms, PLC/Book Study Guides, and leader’s guides from select titles. (Teaching Strategies & Professional Development, Early Childhood, Social & Emotional Learning for Kids & Teens, Gifted & Special Education)